EC chair Charlotte Osei nominated for Chatham House award

EC chair Charlotte Osei nominated for Chatham House award

The Chairperson of the Electoral Commission (EC) of Ghana, Charlotte Osei, has been nominated for the 2017 Chatham House Prize.

The Chatham House Prize is awarded to persons or organisations deemed to have made the most significant contribution to the improvement of international relations in the previous year.

Others nominated for the awards are Colombian President Juan Manuel Santos and Jens Stoltenberg, Secretary-General of NATO.

According to the Director of Chatham House, Dr Robin Niblett CMG, the nomination of Mrs Osei was based on her admirable supervision of Ghana’s peaceful and transparent electoral process in December 2016.

“The recent election consolidated Ghana’s 24-year-long democratic trajectory and was norm setting for Africa, the Commonwealth and beyond; your tireless efforts throughout 2016 were central to this success,” according to Chatham House.

Past recipients of the Chatham House Prize include former President of Ghana, John Agyekum Kufuor; former President of Mozambique, Joaquim Chissano; former President of Brazil, Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva; Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, Burmese democracy campaigner and leader of the National League for Democracy; former US Secretary of State and Democratic presidential candidate in last November’s US elections, Mrs Hillary Clinton; and former US Secretary of State John Kerry.

The final winner of the award will be announced at the end of April, 2017.

Chatham House, the Royal Institute of International Affairs, is an independent policy institute based in London, UK.

To Top